Classes – settle down, students! The class is about to begin

In Harry Potter: Magic Awakened, you need to attend and complete classes to progress further into the story and gain Pass Points. Pass Points can be spent in the Magic Pass section of the game. During the first Beta and in the Chinese version of the game, there is a different feature called “House Chests” instead of Magic Pass and Pass Points. I’m not sure which feature will be present for the global release of the game.

When you reach a certain milestone in the Magic Pass, you will be able to collect rewards. You will need Pass Points to unlock Story Missions as well, so you can’t ignore them.

Because of the importance of Pass Points, Classes are an essential part of the game, and you will spend a lot of time in the classes. And they are fun too! At the end of each class, you will get a grade (Good, Excellent, or Perfect) and Pass Points.

It is too early to say before the release of the game, but I think the Grades influence the score you get at the end of the Class. Grades can also be important for leveling up the difficulty of your Classes, which I explained later in this post.

Types of Classes

There are seven types of classes:

  • Charms
  • Divination
  • Muggle Studies
  • The Defense against the Dark Arts
  • History of Magic
  • Creature Care
  • Quidditch Practice Match

Class Schedule

Each day of the week, you can play only three types of classes, according to the Class Schedule.


Charms, Divination, Flying Class.


Defense against the Dark Arts, History of Magic, Flying Class.


Muggle Studies, Charms, Creature Care.


History of Magic, Creature Care, Flying Class.


Muggle Studies, Defense against the Dark Arts, Divination


Defense against Dark Art, History of Magic, Flying Class.


Muggle Studies, Charms, Creature Care


Each class has these difficulty levels:

  • Tutorial
  • Elementary
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced

Every Class is a mini game.

In Charms Class you will fight a Boss-type opponent. The point is the use a specific spell you are learning in the Charms class to overcome the difficult opponent. For example, you will have a Class where you’ll use the Wingardium Leviosa Charm to stun the Troll while you are doing damage over time to him.

In Divination Class you will draw objects that you see. You’ll need to draw as close to the presented object as you possibly can. Your teammates have to guess which object is that, by choosing one of the four answers presented to them. You will also guess what’s on the drawings of the other three teammates.

Muggle Studies and History of Magic are quizzes. Your team of three members will compete against another team of three members. You will have 10 questions, and four answers for each question. Each answer is 10 points. For example, if all of your team answers correctly, each of you will get 10 points and the entire team will have 30 points. The History of Magic has questions about Harry Potter lore, both from the books and from the movies, while Muggle Studies questions can be from lore or they are facts from the actual (Muggle) world, for example: “in which country is the House of Commons”.

Defense against the Dark Arts is a combat-style Class. You will have to fight creatures. There’s a set of different creatures for each difficulty level, and which creatures will be a subject of your Class is random. During the fight, you need to use a special Charm, depending on that Class’ objective. For example, in one of the scenarios from Elementary difficulty, you will fight Pixies, 42 of them precisely. You need to catch 6 of them with the special Charm called “Immobilus”. For Immobilus to work, you need to cast it on a Pixie that has less than 20% Health.

Creature Care is another combat-style Class. You need to lower the health of an immensely powerful creature to a certain percentage. For example, in a scenario from Elementary difficulty, you need to lower Hippogriff’s Health to 50%.

Quidditch Practice Match is the most complex Class. During the first Beta, it was a separate feature in the game, while in the second Beta it is moved to Classes. I’m not sure if it will remain there. In the game, Quidditch is a race where you need to score goals and accumulate more points than your opponent’s team. You can use buffs that will speed you up, but there are debuffs that will slow you down. You also need to avoid opponent players, because if they hit you many times, you will lose Stamina. When that happens, you will fall from your Broomstick and you will wait for the cooldown to go back to the game, missing chances to score more points.

You can play the tutorial difficulty of each Class only once. The tutorial difficulty’s purpose is to introduce you to the mini-game rules and it’s usually very simple. Next time you play the same Class, you will have Elementary difficulty,

To progress, for example, from Elementary to Intermediate difficulty, you need to complete a set of tasks. Tasks are related to the gameplay of each Class. Complete the Class in a certain way, and you will complete the Task. Some of the Task’s examples during the second Beta:

  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Creature Care: Hippogriff
  • Pass Elementary Creature Care: Hippogriff with Health over 50%
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary History of Magic
  • Pass Elementary History of Magic with a score of at least 150
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Charms: Wingardium Leviosa
  • Pass Elementary Charms: Wingardium Leviosa and use the Charm at least 5 times
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Creatue Care: Gnomes
  • Pass Elementary Creature Care: Gnomes with Pumpkin Health over 60%
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Defence Against the Dark Arts: Pixies
  • Pass Elementary Defence Against the Dark Arts: Pixies and capture at least 10 Pixies
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Defence Against the Dark Arts: Boggart
  • Pass Elementary Defence Against the Dark Arts: Boggart with Health over 50%
  • Get an Excellent Grade in Elementary Divination
  • Get 4 Likes in Divination Class
  • Get a Perfect Grade in Elementary Muggle Studies
  • Pass Elementary Muggle Studies with a score of at least 150
  • Get an Excellent Grade in Elementary Creature Care: Blast-Ended Skrewts
  • Pass Elementary Creature Care: Blast-Ended Skrewts and move at least 1 Pumpkin

Once you complete twelve tasks of your choosing, you will unlock the next difficulty level for all your classes. It’s hard to tell and measure how exactly difficult Classes are for each difficulty level before the global release, but for combat-style Classes, you will fight stronger enemy creatures. I’ve noticed for Divination that in higher difficulties you have more complex objects to draw.

Rewards for leveling up the difficulty

  • Class Credit limit up
  • Class Credits received up
  • Rank-up rewards